Connect with us


West Indies identify squads for his or her upcoming white-ball tour of Pakistan



On Saturday, West Indies introduced their squad for the upcoming white-ball tour of Pakistan. The sequence will function three One-Day Internationals (ODIs) and as many T20 Internationals (T20Is). The limited-overs leg shall be performed from December 13 to 22. The Nationwide Stadium in Karachi shall be internet hosting all of the matches.

The three-match ODI sequence shall be a part of the ICC Males’s ODI Tremendous League. Notably, the Caribbean crew is at the moment at eighth place out of 13 groups. Cricket West Indies (CWI) have given all-rounder Jason Holder a relaxation, citing his workload administration.

Nonetheless, Evin Lewis, Shimron Hetmyer, Andre Russell and Lendl Simmons have expressed their unavailability resulting from private causes. Equally, Fabian Allen and Obed McCoy aren’t a part of the squad due to their respective harm and rehabilitation.

Senior all-rounder Kieron Pollard will proceed to guide the aspect in each codecs, whereas Shai Hope has been appointed his deputy for ODIs. In relation to the shortest format, wicketkeeper-batter Nicholas Pooran will proceed to be the vice-captain.

There are additionally some new faces within the squad. Batting duo of Justin Greaves and Shamarh Brooks, left-arm spinner Gudakesh Motie and all-rounder Odean Smith have all earned their maiden ODI call-ups for the Pakistan tour.

“There are a variety of gifted newcomers in every format that may have the chance to indicate what they’re able to on the worldwide degree. Justin Greaves is a really gifted participant, had an excellent CG Insurance coverage Super50 match and carried out nicely within the President’s XI match in opposition to Eire in 2020. Odean Smith actually grabbed our consideration within the final CPL. His tempo was by no means in query, nonetheless he has added better management and has displayed the power to be a wicket-taker,” mentioned Lead Selector Roger Harper within the official assertion.

“Shamarh Brooks batted nicely within the CG Insurance coverage Super50 Cup and adopted that up with good performances within the CPL. He’ll lend better depth to the batting line-up. Gudakesh Motie has been rewarded for his excellent efficiency within the CG Insurance coverage Super50, adopted up by his displaying within the CPL. Dominic Drakes has the potential to be an impressive all-rounder, as he displayed over the past CPL,” he added.

Listed here are the squads of West Indies:

ODIs: Kieron Pollard (c), Shai Hope (vc), Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Justin Greaves, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Gudakesh Motie, Anderson Phillip, Nicholas Pooran, Raymon Reifer, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Hayden Walsh Jr.

T20Is: Kieron Pollard (c), Nicholas Pooran (vc), Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *