Connect with us


Perth Scorchers declare first WBBL title; Harmanpreet Kaur turns into Participant of the Match



Marizanne Kapp, together with her all-round efficiency within the remaining of Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) 2021, guided Perth Scorchers to a memorable win over Adelaide Strikers as Scorchers clinched their first-ever WBBL title on Saturday.

Requested to bat first, Scorchers posted 146/5 of their allotted 20 overs, due to useful contributions by skipper Sophie Devine and Kapp. Whereas Devine scored 35 off 33 balls with the assistance of six boundaries, Kapp remained unbeaten on 31 off 23 deliveries, together with 4 fours to take Scorchers to a good complete. Megan Schutt was the least costly bowler for Adelaide, taking one for 19 in her quota of 4 overs.

In reply, Strikers might solely handle to achieve 134/6 of their stipulated 20 overs, dropping the epic remaining by 12 runs.

Captain Tahlia McGrath was the one main spotlight in Strikers’ chase, scoring 36 off 29 balls. Kapp, who shined with the bat within the first innings, grabbed one wicket whereas conceding 25 runs in her quota of 4 overs. Taneale Peschel and Heather Graham additionally shined with the ball, with each taking a few scalps.

“It was a horrible week for me, I used to be unwell, couldn’t get off the bed. I don’t suppose I deserve this, the ladies there, deserve it, it was a crew effort. So odd, it wasn’t straightforward, she is a implausible participant, is aware of me so nicely however completely happy to be right here [on facing off against her wife – Dane van Niekerk in the final],” stated Kapp after profitable the ‘Participant of the Match’ award.

WBBL titles for the reason that starting:

  • WBBL 01 –Sydney Thunder
  • WBBL 02 – Sydney Sixers
  • WBBL 03 – Sydney Sixers
  • WBBL 04 – Brisbane Warmth
  • WBBL 05 – Brisbane Warmth
  • WBBL 06 – Sydney Thunder
  • WBBL07 – Perth Scorchers

India’s Harmanpreet Kaur, who represented Melbourne Renegades this season, was named ‘Participant of the Match’ for her all-round efficiency all through the match. Harmanpreet scored 406 runs in 13 matches and took 15 wickets.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *