Connect with us

Cricket News

New Zealand Cricket announce squad for Sri Lanka ODIs; Tom Latham named captain



New Zealand Cricket (NZC) has introduced that Tom Latham will lead their males’s One-Day Worldwide (ODI) workforce within the upcoming three-match sequence towards Sri Lanka. The choice was made as regulars corresponding to Kane Williamson will likely be enjoying within the Indian Premier League (IPL). The IPL 2023 is about to begin on the identical day the ODI sequence ends, March 31.

Williamson, together with Tim Southee, Devon Conway and Mitchell Santner, will likely be launched early from the present Check sequence towards Sri Lanka to take part within the IPL. Finn Allen, Lockie Ferguson and Glenn Phillips may also depart the squad after the primary ODI to hitch their respective IPL groups.

The primary ODI of the New Zealand versus Sri Lanka sequence is scheduled for March 25, and the remaining matches will likely be performed on March 28 and March 31. Regardless of the absence of some key gamers, the BlackCaps will likely be trying to proceed their spectacular type in limited-overs cricket.

The workforce may also see the return of Tom Blundell and Will Younger, whereas Chad Bowes and Ben Lister, who’re uncapped gamers, have been referred to as as much as the squad. Moreover, Mark Chapman and Henry Nicholls will be a part of the squad forward of the second ODI, offering extra choices for the workforce administration.

“Chad has been spectacular for a variety of seasons on the high of the order for Canterbury in addition to being a superb fielder,” head coach Gary Stead stated in his official assertion.

“We’re set to play 16 white ball matches between now and the beginning of Could so there will likely be a variety of possibilities for gamers to check themselves in acquainted and unfamiliar situations.

“Tom Blundell, particularly, is somebody who we’ve been massively impressed by in worldwide cricket over the previous 18 months as a pacesetter within the check workforce after which domestically with the Wellington Firebirds.”

New Zealand ODI squad for Sri Lanka sequence:

Tom Latham (captain), Finn Allen (1st ODI), Tom Blundell, Chad Bowes, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman (2nd and third ODI), Lockie Ferguson (1st ODI), Matt Henry, Ben Lister (2nd and third ODI), Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls (2nd and third ODI), Glenn Phillips (1st ODI), Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Will Younger.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *